Welcome

Living gluten free is not that hard. At first it's a little overwhelming, but soon it will be the only way you know. This site is dedicated to making your gluten free life easy.

Menu

My favorite "Celiac-ism"

Dining Out After explaining my food limitations and that I can't eat wheat, the waiter says: "oh but you can have our bread--it's just white bread. (I fall on the floor laughing.)

What is a Gluten Free Diet?

A gluten-free diet eliminates all foods that contain wheat, oats, barley and rye, including any and derivitives of each. Wheat includes spelt, triticale, and kamut. So, most grains, pastas, cereals, and many processed foods must be eliminated from one's diet.

Don't be discouraged! Celiacs can eat a wonderful and well-balanced diet with a variety of foods, including breads and pastas. Alternate flours such as sorghum, coconut, potato, rice, soy, or bean flour, are available and work well in gluten free baking. In the past ten years, many terrific products have come on the market including gluten free doughnuts, pizza crusts, frozen dinners, breads, crackers, and even beer. There is a learning curve to the gluten free diet. But once it is achieved, one will live a much more happy and healthy life!

What Celiacs Can Not Eat:

What Celiacs Can Eat:

If you are not sure of what you are consuming, don't. You have to know the underlying ingredients to determine if something is safe. A good example is vinegar. Distilled vinegar does not contain gluten. However, malt vinegar does contain gluten because it is made with barley. Best advice: if in doubt, go without.

Wild Cards

Grains are used in the processing of many ingredients, so it will be necessary to seek out hidden gluten. The following terms found in food labels are "wild cards" and may contain gluten.

You should verify with the manufacturer to ensure there is no gluten before consuming. Hidden Gluten

It is important for all celiac patients to read food labels and food ingredient lists, to make sure that the food does not contain hidden gluten. Hidden sources of gluten include additives, preservatives, and stabilizers found in processed foods, medicines and even mouthwashes and toothpastes. If ingredients are not listed on the product-label, check with the manufacturer.

logo
quoteIf in doubt, go without.

Celiac Fact

In 2004, the FDA enacted regulations requiring the top 8 allergens to be clearly labelled on food products (not medicines or cosmetics). This includes wheat, but not oats, barley or rye.
Posted today: The first day of the rest of your gluten free life